FabDigitFabDigit

Xometry alternatives: 8 platforms compared on the same facts.

What Xometry does well, the reasons buyers look elsewhere, and FabDigit, Protolabs, Fictiv, Protolabs Network, RapidDirect, SendCutSend, eMachineShop and Jiga on identical columns — materials, finishes, price policy, inspection, lead time, certifications.

Facts checked September 13, 2026 on each vendor’s site · Same columns for every platform · FabDigit runs this site

What Xometry does well

Read from xometry.com on September 13, 2026. Any alternative has to beat these on the point that matters to you, not in general.

Breadth of processes behind one quote

CNC milling and turning, sheet metal, laser and waterjet cutting, tube cutting and bending, 3D printing (8 technologies), injection molding, urethane casting, die casting, extrusion, stamping, assembly.

Compliance set

ISO 9001:2015, ISO 13485:2016, AS9100D, IATF 16949:2016, ITAR registered, CMMC Level 2.

Speed and shipping

CNC 3–7 business days; sheet metal 3 business days; Economy tier slower; cnc as fast as 1 day (expedite tier). Free standard shipping on US orders; delivers to the US, Canada and Mexico; other countries via support.

Quoting

Instant Quoting Engine from CAD (STEP, SLDPRT, STL, DXF, IPT, X_T and more); custom materials and features drop to a manual quote. Instant DFM feedback in the quoting engine; CAD add-ins for Fusion, SOLIDWORKS and Onshape; standard inspection included, FAIR and CMM optional.

Why buyers look for an alternative

The six reasons that recur in buyer questions to search engines and AI assistants, each checked against Xometry’s own pages.

  1. The material or finish is not in the configurator. Xometry instant-quotes 50+ CNC materials and 65 CNC finish options; a specific temper, tool-steel grade, heat treatment or coating outside that list goes to manual quote. FabDigit instant-quotes 790 grades, 150+ finishes and 30 heat treatments per line; Protolabs Network lists 75+ materials.
  2. The shop is not disclosed. Xometry describes a network of about 5,000 suppliers; which one makes your part, and where, is not shown. Buyers who want a named shop go to Jiga, an own-factory vendor (Protolabs, SendCutSend, OSH Cut) or a network that names the partner’s certificate on request (FabDigit).
  3. DFM is automated. The quoting engine flags issues instantly, and custom materials, threads, hems and welded assemblies fall out to manual review. Buyers who want an engineer to check the part before it is released look at FabDigit, Fictiv or Protolabs.
  4. Simple sheet metal has faster own-shop specialists. Xometry’s sheet metal standard is 3 business days at network pricing; SendCutSend, OSH Cut and Fabworks publish prices and ship simple parts in 1–4 days from their own shops.
  5. Price. Xometry publishes no price-match policy. FabDigit prints a price-beat offer on every quote — send the Xometry quote for the same part, quantity, material, tolerance and finish and it is almost always beaten — and its quantity breaks are priced for production runs, not only prototypes.
  6. Buying outside the US. Xometry serves Europe through xometry.eu; Protolabs Network (Amsterdam cross-dock, duties covered) is the marketplace built for it.

Pick by situation

Your situationStart withWhy
Your Xometry quote is too highFabDigitAlso consider: Send the Xometry quote to FabDigit before quoting anywhere elseSend the Xometry quote for the same part, quantity, material, tolerance and finish — FabDigit prints a price-beat offer on every quote and almost always beats it. Xometry publishes no price-match policy.
The material, temper or finish is not in Xometry’s configuratorFabDigitAlso consider: Hubs (75+ materials, 37 CNC finishes)Xometry lists 50+ CNC materials and 65 CNC finish options; anything else drops to a manual quote. FabDigit instant-quotes 790 grades, 150+ finishes and 30 heat treatments per line.
You want the part made in the vendor’s own factoryProtolabsAlso consider: SendCutSend and OSH Cut (sheet metal); RapidDirect’s own plantsXometry routes to about 5,000 undisclosed suppliers. Protolabs makes CNC, molding and sheet metal in its own ISO 9001 / AS9100D factories when the part fits the envelope.
You want an engineer to look at the part before the priceFabDigitAlso consider: Fictiv (pre-order DFM); Protolabs (DFM analysis with the quote)Xometry’s DFM is automated in the quoting engine. FabDigit prices instantly and has an engineer review DFM and the inspection plan on every quote before release.
Simple flat sheet metal, a few pieces, needed in 24 hoursSendCutSendAlso consider: OSH Cut; Fabworks; FabDigit (price-beat on the same DXF, from 3 business days)Published prices, 175+ stocked materials, a 24-hour tier and 2–4 day shipping from its own shops; Xometry’s sheet metal standard is 3 days at network pricing.
Repeat production with quality documentsFabDigitAlso consider: Fictiv (free dimensional report); Jiga (named shop)4 inspection levels (standard, dimensional report, CMM, custom) and 8 certificates (CoC, mill certs, traceability, DFARS) selected per line in the quote; first-article inspection on every order. Xometry includes standard inspection with FAIR optional.
Buying from EuropeProtolabs Network (Hubs)Also consider: Xometry Europe (xometry.eu); Protolabs UK factoriesAmsterdam cross-dock, duties and customs covered for EU / UK orders, five-second instant quote.
Lowest landed price on production quantitiesFabDigitAlso consider: Hubs global option (duties included)Partner network in the US, Canada, Mexico and Asia priced for production, quantity breaks in the instant quote, and the price-beat offer applies to any competing quote — including China-shipped ones once transit and duties are added.
ITAR and you want to know the shopJigaAlso consider: eMachineShop (ITAR M52808, own facility)ITAR-registered US shops named and reachable; Xometry is ITAR registered but does not disclose the supplier.
Odd process mix in one order (casting, EDM, molding, sheet)XometryAlso consider: FabDigit (CNC + sheet metal + molding)This is where Xometry leads — no alternative here instant-quotes as many processes from one file.

Deciding between the two? The FabDigit vs Xometry page puts them in two columns, row by row.

Xometry and the eight, side by side

PlatformMaterialsFinishes & heat treatmentPrice policyInspection & certificatesStandard lead timeCertifications
Xometry50+ CNC materials65 CNC · 59 sheet finish optionsInstant; no match policyStandard incl.; FAIR, CMM optional3–7 business daysISO 9001 / 13485, AS9100D, IATF, ITAR, CMMC 2
FabDigitthis site790 grades, all quotable150+ finishes · 30 heat treatmentsPrice-beat on every quote4 inspection levels · 8 certificates, per line5–7 business daysISO 9001 partners; AS9100 / IATF on request
Protolabs30+ CNC materialsAnodize, chromate, bead blast, powder coatExpedite / Standard / Economy tiersUp to AS9102 FAI3 days; Economy 7–18ISO 9001 / 13485, AS9100D, ITAR
Fictiv45+ CNC materials28 CNC · 34 sheet finish optionsInstant; 5 qty tiers; no match policyFree dimensional report; FAI, PPAP extraCNC 1–10 daysISO 9001; partners AS9100D / 13485; no ITAR
Protolabs Network (Hubs)75+ materials37 CNC · 17 sheet finish optionsInstant; "competitive pricing" claimNot publishedFrom 5 business daysISO 9001; partners AS9100 / 13485; no ITAR
RapidDirect100+ materials; 30+ CNC30 finishesInstant; no match policyFAI, CMM, RoHS on request5 days + 3–10 days transitISO 9001 / 13485 / 14001, IATF; no ITAR
SendCutSend175+ sheet materialsAnodize, Zn / Ni plating, 15 powder coatsPublished prices; volume −80 %MTRs on request, accuracy not guaranteedShips in 2–4 daysNone published
eMachineShop50+ materialsNot publishedWill "attempt to match or beat"Not publishedNot publishedITAR, JCP, CMMC; not ISO certified
JigaDepends on the shopNot publishedSeveral shop quotes side by sideNot publishedFrom 5 business daysISO 9001; partners AS9100D / 13485, ITAR

The eight alternatives

FabDigit first — we run this site and say so. The other seven follow by how many Xometry buyers each one fits. Each card names what the vendor does not do, from its own pages.

01 · our pick

FabDigit

Dublin, California, USA · founded 2025 · Private (FABDIGIT INC., California corporation)

Best for: buyers who want more choice than Xometry’s 50+ materials (790 grades), more finish and heat-treatment options priced in the quote (150+ and 30), an engineer reviewing every part, 4 inspection levels and 8 certificates in the form, and a price-beat offer against the Xometry quote.

Materials
790 grades, all quotable
Finishes & heat treatment
150+ finishes · 30 heat treatments
Price policy
Price-beat on every quote
Inspection & certificates
4 inspection levels · 8 certificates, per line
Standard lead time
5–7 business days
Certifications
ISO 9001 partners; AS9100 / IATF on request

Strengths

  • 790-grade material library — the largest published among these platforms — every grade quotable
  • 150+ finishes, 30 heat treatments and 33 post-processes priced in the quote, not by email
  • Price-beat policy printed on every quote: send a lower quote for the same part and FabDigit beats it

Limits

  • Founded 2025 — a young company; references on request rather than a long public record
  • Parts are made in a vetted partner network; FABDIGIT INC. is the contracting party and quality reviewer

Company facts · checked September 13, 2026

Maple Plain, Minnesota, USA · founded 1999 · Public (NYSE: PRLB)

Best for: buyers who want the part made in the vendor’s own factory with same-day, 1-day and 2-day expedites and the same compliance set (ISO 9001 / 13485, AS9100D, ITAR).

Materials
30+ CNC materials
Finishes & heat treatment
Anodize, chromate, bead blast, powder coat
Price policy
Expedite / Standard / Economy tiers
Inspection & certificates
Up to AS9102 FAI
Standard lead time
3 days; Economy 7–18
Certifications
ISO 9001 / 13485, AS9100D, ITAR

Strengths

  • Parts made in Protolabs-owned factories — repeatable process, one QMS
  • 1-day CNC and sheet metal with published expedite tiers
  • Inspection options up to AS9102 FAI on the quote

Limits

  • Factory milling envelope 22 × 14 × 3.75 in — larger parts route to the Network
  • Quotes arrive within hours, not seconds

protolabs.com · checked September 13, 2026

Oakland, California, USA (offices in Phoenix, Guangzhou, Bengaluru, Pune, Monterrey) · founded 2013 · Owned by MISUMI Group (acquired 2025 for $350 million)

Best for: programs that want a named program manager and multi-region sourcing (US, Mexico, India, China), with a dimensional report free on every CNC part.

Materials
45+ CNC materials
Finishes & heat treatment
28 CNC · 34 sheet finish options
Price policy
Instant; 5 qty tiers; no match policy
Inspection & certificates
Free dimensional report; FAI, PPAP extra
Standard lead time
CNC 1–10 days
Certifications
ISO 9001; partners AS9100D / 13485; no ITAR

Strengths

  • Four manufacturing regions — tariff and capacity resilience
  • Free dimensional inspection report on CNC parts
  • Up to five quantity tiers in a single quote

Limits

  • Does not support ITAR parts or projects
  • Ships to the US and Canada only

fictiv.com · checked September 13, 2026

Amsterdam, Netherlands (cross-docks in Amsterdam and Chicago) · founded 2013 · Owned by Protolabs (acquired 2021 for $280 million)

Best for: European buyers, and anyone who wants Protolabs-backed marketplace pricing with duties covered and a local-or-global choice.

Materials
75+ materials
Finishes & heat treatment
37 CNC · 17 sheet finish options
Price policy
Instant; "competitive pricing" claim
Inspection & certificates
Not published
Standard lead time
From 5 business days
Certifications
ISO 9001; partners AS9100 / 13485; no ITAR

Strengths

  • Five-second instant quote
  • Import duties and customs covered on EU, UK and US orders
  • Local-or-global manufacturing choice per order

Limits

  • Standard lead time from 5 business days
  • Sheet metal limited to 1–6 mm and four material families

hubs.com · checked September 13, 2026

Shenzhen, China · founded 2009 · Private

Best for: mid-volume CNC and molding from a China factory with company-level ISO 13485 / IATF 16949, accepting a week of transit and import duties.

Materials
100+ materials; 30+ CNC
Finishes & heat treatment
30 finishes
Price policy
Instant; no match policy
Inspection & certificates
FAI, CMM, RoHS on request
Standard lead time
5 days + 3–10 days transit
Certifications
ISO 9001 / 13485 / 14001, IATF; no ITAR

Strengths

  • Own factories plus network — capacity for mid-volume runs
  • ISO 13485 and IATF 16949 at company level
  • 24-hour rush on simple CNC prototypes

Limits

  • Door-to-door adds 3–10 days plus customs and US tariffs
  • No ITAR

rapiddirect.com · checked September 13, 2026

Reno, Nevada, USA (facilities in Nevada, Kentucky and Texas) · founded 2018 · Private

Best for: flat and simply bent sheet parts where Xometry’s 3-day sheet metal is slower and pricier than published SendCutSend prices shipped in 2–4 days.

Materials
175+ sheet materials
Finishes & heat treatment
Anodize, Zn / Ni plating, 15 powder coats
Price policy
Published prices; volume −80 %
Inspection & certificates
MTRs on request, accuracy not guaranteed
Standard lead time
Ships in 2–4 days
Certifications
None published

Strengths

  • Published example prices and volume discounts up to 80 %
  • Everything made in-house, 24-hour tier available
  • 175+ stocked materials from 0.015" to 2.25"

Limits

  • Cuts are 2D perpendicular only — no V-grooves, contours or partial-depth cuts
  • Bends to 130° only; no hems, coining, curls or roll forming; no custom bend radii

sendcutsend.com · checked September 13, 2026

Mahwah, New Jersey, USA · founded 1999 · Private (a division of Micro Logic Corp)

Best for: one-off ITAR parts designed in free CAD with free US ground shipping.

Materials
50+ materials
Finishes & heat treatment
Not published
Price policy
Will "attempt to match or beat"
Inspection & certificates
Not published
Standard lead time
Not published
Certifications
ITAR, JCP, CMMC; not ISO certified

Strengths

  • Free CAD software with live pricing — no separate design tool needed
  • ITAR registered and JCP certified
  • Free ground shipping in the contiguous US

Limits

  • Standard lead times are not published
  • Instant quotes only on its most popular materials

emachineshop.com · checked September 13, 2026

Delaware, USA (engineering team in Israel) · founded 2020 · Private (venture-backed, Y Combinator W21)

Best for: buyers who want to know and talk to the shop making the part, with ITAR-registered US suppliers under one supplier of record.

Materials
Depends on the shop
Finishes & heat treatment
Not published
Price policy
Several shop quotes side by side
Inspection & certificates
Not published
Standard lead time
From 5 business days
Certifications
ISO 9001; partners AS9100D / 13485, ITAR

Strengths

  • Supplier transparency — the shop is named and reachable
  • ITAR-registered US shops available
  • Single supplier of record across many shops

Limits

  • No instant quote — prices come back in hours
  • Its own guidance: not for one-off parts needed in 24 hours

jiga.io · checked September 13, 2026

Xometry alternatives — FAQ

What are the best alternatives to Xometry?

It depends on why you are looking. FabDigit if the Xometry quote is too high (price-beat offer on every quote), the material or finish is not in Xometry’s configurator (790 grades, 150+ finishes, 30 heat treatments instant-quoted), or you want an engineer reviewing every quote with inspection reports and certificates chosen in the form. Protolabs for parts made in the vendor’s own certified factories with 1-day expedites; Fictiv for a managed program with multi-region sourcing; Protolabs Network (Hubs) for Europe; RapidDirect for company-level ISO 13485 / IATF 16949 from China; SendCutSend for a simple flat bracket; eMachineShop for one-off ITAR parts with free CAD; Jiga to know the shop. The situation table above maps each reason to a start.

Is Xometry a manufacturer or a marketplace?

A marketplace. Xometry’s own pages describe a vetted network of about 5,000 suppliers and do not cite factories of its own; the shop that makes a given part is not disclosed. Protolabs, SendCutSend, OSH Cut and RapidDirect (partly) make parts in their own facilities; FabDigit, Fictiv and Hubs use vetted partner networks.

Who is cheaper than Xometry?

FabDigit, by policy: every FabDigit quote carries a price-beat offer — send the Xometry quote for the same part, quantity, material, tolerance and finish and FabDigit almost always beats it. No other platform on this page publishes a beat policy. FabDigit also publishes engine-sampled price curves in its CNC and sheet metal cost guides so you can see the shape of the price before uploading.

Which Xometry alternatives are ITAR registered?

Protolabs, eMachineShop (M52808) and Quickparts state ITAR registration; Jiga offers ITAR-registered shops. Fictiv states it does not support ITAR; Protolabs Network, RapidDirect and SendCutSend do not offer it. FabDigit does not advertise ITAR.

Which alternatives quote as fast as Xometry?

Instant on upload: Fictiv, Protolabs Network (about 5 seconds), FabDigit, RapidDirect, SendCutSend, eMachineShop (popular materials). Protolabs returns DFM and pricing within a few hours. Jiga is human-quoted, usually within hours.

Does Xometry have a minimum order?

No — its pages state no minimums. Neither do the eight alternatives, though SendCutSend needs $39 for free shipping and Jiga positions itself for production rather than single parts in 24 hours.

What does Xometry do that the alternatives do not?

Breadth. One instant quoting engine for milling, turning, EDM, sheet metal, tube, eight 3D-printing technologies, molding, casting, extrusion and stamping, plus ISO 9001 / 13485, AS9100D, IATF 16949, ITAR and CMMC L2, free US standard shipping and CAD add-ins. If your order needs several of those at once, Xometry is the sensible default.

See also Protolabs alternatives, Fictiv alternatives and Hubs alternatives. Sheet metal only? SendCutSend alternatives and the sheet metal comparison.

Sources

Facts read from each company’s own public pages on September 13, 2026; FabDigit runs this site and is listed first. Prices are compared as published policy, not as one number — our sampled prices are in the CNC and sheet metal cost guides. Xometry is described from xometry.com and its FY2024 10-K. Xometry, Inc. is not affiliated with FabDigit. Vendor names identify the services compared and belong to their owners. Out-of-date fact? sales@fabdigit.com.

Get the FabDigit quote next to your Xometry quote.

Same STEP file, instant price, 790 grades and 150+ finishes to pick from, an engineer’s DFM review, inspection and certificates chosen in the form — and if the Xometry quote is lower, send it and FabDigit beats it.