FabDigitFabDigit

Hubs (Protolabs Network) alternatives: 8 platforms compared on the same facts.

What Hubs does well, the reasons buyers look elsewhere, and FabDigit, Xometry, Protolabs, Fictiv, RapidDirect, SendCutSend, OSH Cut and Jiga on identical columns — materials, finishes, price policy, inspection, lead time, certifications.

Facts checked September 13, 2026 on each vendor’s site · Same columns for every platform · FabDigit runs this site

What Hubs does well

Read from hubs.com on September 13, 2026. Any alternative has to beat these on the point that matters to you, not in general.

Five-second instant quote

Instant machine-learning quote in about 5 seconds from STEP, STP, IGES, IGS, SLDPRT, 3DM, SAT or X_T. Instant DFM in the quote.

Europe, duties covered

EU, UK and US with customs clearance and import duties covered. Amsterdam, Netherlands (cross-docks in Amsterdam and Chicago).

Protolabs behind it

Owned by Protolabs (acquired 2021 for $280 million). Network of manufacturing partners in North America, Europe and Asia; the buyer chooses local or global production, the shop is not disclosed.

Processes

CNC milling (3/4/5-axis) and turning, 3D printing (FDM, SLA, SLS, MJF), sheet metal (laser cutting, bending), injection molding.

Why buyers look for an alternative

The six reasons that recur in buyer questions to search engines and AI assistants, each checked against Hubs’ own pages.

  1. Five business days is the starting point. Hubs CNC and sheet metal lead times begin at 5 business days. FabDigit simple parts start at 2 days with 5–7 standard; Protolabs runs 3 days standard with same-day expedites; OSH Cut guarantees 2 days.
  2. The material or finish is not in the configurator. 75+ materials and 37 CNC / 17 sheet metal finish options. FabDigit instant-quotes 790 grades, 150+ finishes and 30 heat treatments per line.
  3. Sheet metal stops at 6 mm. Hubs covers 1–6 mm in aluminum, stainless, mild steel and copper. OSH Cut lasers plate to 1"; SendCutSend stocks 175+ materials to 2.25"; FabDigit quotes plate and welded assemblies.
  4. No ITAR, shop not disclosed. Hubs offers no ITAR and does not name the producing partner. Xometry and Protolabs are ITAR registered; Jiga names the shop.
  5. Inspection is not a menu. Hubs publishes no inspection-report options. FabDigit puts 4 inspection levels and 8 certificates in the quote form; Fictiv includes a dimensional report; Protolabs offers tiers to AS9102.
  6. Price. Hubs publishes no match or beat policy. FabDigit prints a price-beat offer on every quote — send the Hubs quote for the same part and it is almost always beaten.

Pick by situation

Your situationStart withWhy
Your Hubs quote is too highFabDigitAlso consider: Compare landed cost — Hubs includes duties on EU / UK / US ordersSend the Hubs quote for the same part, quantity, material, tolerance and finish — FabDigit prints a price-beat offer on every quote and almost always beats it. Hubs says network competition keeps prices competitive but publishes no match policy.
The material, temper or finish is not in the configuratorFabDigitAlso consider: Xometry (65 CNC finish options)Hubs lists 75+ materials and 37 CNC / 17 sheet metal finish options. FabDigit instant-quotes 790 grades with tempers, 150+ finishes and 30 heat treatments per line.
Standard lead time under 5 business daysFabDigitAlso consider: Protolabs (3 days standard, 1-day expedite); Xometry (3–7 days)Hubs CNC and sheet metal start from 5 business days. FabDigit simple 3-axis parts start at 2 business days with 5–7 standard; Protolabs runs 3 days standard from its own factories.
Tighter standard tolerance without a drawingFabDigitAlso consider: Protolabs (±0.005" without a drawing)Hubs quotes to ISO 2768-m or -f. FabDigit holds ±0.025 mm standard and ±0.005 mm on critical features with grinding or wire EDM.
Sheet metal thicker than 6 mm, or steel plateOSH CutAlso consider: SendCutSend (to 2.25"); FabDigit (plate and welded assemblies)Hubs sheet metal covers 1–6 mm in four material families. OSH Cut lasers steel and aluminum to 1" and stainless to 5/8" with a 2-day guaranteed lead time.
Inspection reports and certificates chosen at quote timeFabDigitAlso consider: Fictiv (free dimensional report); Protolabs (tiers to AS9102)Hubs publishes no inspection-report options. FabDigit puts 4 inspection levels and 8 certificates (CoC, mill certs, traceability, DFARS) in the quote form.
ITAR is a contract requirementXometryAlso consider: Protolabs; Jiga (ITAR shops)Hubs does not offer ITAR. Xometry and Protolabs are ITAR registered; Jiga offers ITAR-registered US shops. FabDigit does not advertise ITAR.
You want to know the shop making the partJigaAlso consider: Protolabs, OSH Cut, SendCutSend (own shops); FabDigit (partner certificate on request)Hubs does not disclose the producing shop. Jiga names it; Protolabs, OSH Cut and SendCutSend make parts in their own plants.
A US buyer who wants a US engineering contactFabDigitAlso consider: Fictiv (Oakland); Protolabs (Minnesota)Hubs runs from Amsterdam with a Chicago cross-dock. FABDIGIT INC. (California) is the contracting party with a US engineering front end and an engineer on every quote.
Buying from Europe or the UKProtolabs Network (Hubs)Also consider: Xometry Europe; Protolabs UK factoriesThis is where Hubs leads — Amsterdam cross-dock, duties and customs covered on EU / UK orders, local-or-global sourcing choice, five-second quote.

Deciding between the two? The FabDigit vs Protolabs Network page puts them in two columns, row by row.

Hubs and the eight, side by side

PlatformMaterialsFinishes & heat treatmentPrice policyInspection & certificatesStandard lead timeCertifications
Protolabs Network (Hubs)75+ materials37 CNC · 17 sheet finish optionsInstant; "competitive pricing" claimNot publishedFrom 5 business daysISO 9001; partners AS9100 / 13485; no ITAR
FabDigitthis site790 grades, all quotable150+ finishes · 30 heat treatmentsPrice-beat on every quote4 inspection levels · 8 certificates, per line5–7 business daysISO 9001 partners; AS9100 / IATF on request
Xometry50+ CNC materials65 CNC · 59 sheet finish optionsInstant; no match policyStandard incl.; FAIR, CMM optional3–7 business daysISO 9001 / 13485, AS9100D, IATF, ITAR, CMMC 2
Protolabs30+ CNC materialsAnodize, chromate, bead blast, powder coatExpedite / Standard / Economy tiersUp to AS9102 FAI3 days; Economy 7–18ISO 9001 / 13485, AS9100D, ITAR
Fictiv45+ CNC materials28 CNC · 34 sheet finish optionsInstant; 5 qty tiers; no match policyFree dimensional report; FAI, PPAP extraCNC 1–10 daysISO 9001; partners AS9100D / 13485; no ITAR
RapidDirect100+ materials; 30+ CNC30 finishesInstant; no match policyFAI, CMM, RoHS on request5 days + 3–10 days transitISO 9001 / 13485 / 14001, IATF; no ITAR
SendCutSend175+ sheet materialsAnodize, Zn / Ni plating, 15 powder coatsPublished prices; volume −80 %MTRs on request, accuracy not guaranteedShips in 2–4 daysNone published
OSH Cut500+ sheet, plate, tubeDeburr, blast, powder coat; no platingInstant; auto volume discountsNot published2 days, guaranteedISO 9001:2015
JigaDepends on the shopNot publishedSeveral shop quotes side by sideNot publishedFrom 5 business daysISO 9001; partners AS9100D / 13485, ITAR

The eight alternatives

FabDigit first — we run this site and say so. The other seven follow by how many Hubs buyers each one fits. Each card names what the vendor does not do, from its own pages.

01 · our pick

FabDigit

Dublin, California, USA · founded 2025 · Private (FABDIGIT INC., California corporation)

Best for: US buyers who want more in the quote than Hubs’ 75+ materials and 37 / 17 finish options — 790 grades, 150+ finishes, 30 heat treatments — plus an engineer reviewing every quote, 4 inspection levels and 8 certificates chosen per line, tighter standard tolerance (±0.025 mm) and a price-beat offer against the Hubs quote.

Materials
790 grades, all quotable
Finishes & heat treatment
150+ finishes · 30 heat treatments
Price policy
Price-beat on every quote
Inspection & certificates
4 inspection levels · 8 certificates, per line
Standard lead time
5–7 business days
Certifications
ISO 9001 partners; AS9100 / IATF on request

Strengths

  • 790-grade material library — the largest published among these platforms — every grade quotable
  • 150+ finishes, 30 heat treatments and 33 post-processes priced in the quote, not by email
  • Price-beat policy printed on every quote: send a lower quote for the same part and FabDigit beats it

Limits

  • Founded 2025 — a young company; references on request rather than a long public record
  • Parts are made in a vetted partner network; FABDIGIT INC. is the contracting party and quality reviewer

Company facts · checked September 13, 2026

North Bethesda, Maryland, USA · founded 2013 · Public (Nasdaq: XMTR)

Best for: the widest process menu behind one instant quote with ITAR, AS9100D and CMMC L2 at company level, and free US standard shipping.

Materials
50+ CNC materials
Finishes & heat treatment
65 CNC · 59 sheet finish options
Price policy
Instant; no match policy
Inspection & certificates
Standard incl.; FAIR, CMM optional
Standard lead time
3–7 business days
Certifications
ISO 9001 / 13485, AS9100D, IATF, ITAR, CMMC 2

Strengths

  • Widest process range of any platform here, all in one quoting engine
  • Full compliance stack: ISO 9001 / 13485, AS9100D, IATF 16949, ITAR, CMMC L2
  • Free standard shipping on US orders

Limits

  • The shop that makes the part is not disclosed
  • Custom materials, threads, hems and welded assemblies fall out of the instant quote into manual review

xometry.com · checked September 13, 2026

Maple Plain, Minnesota, USA · founded 1999 · Public (NYSE: PRLB)

Best for: the same corporate family, made in Protolabs’ own factories — same-day and 1-day expedites and company-level ISO 13485 / AS9100D for parts that fit the envelope.

Materials
30+ CNC materials
Finishes & heat treatment
Anodize, chromate, bead blast, powder coat
Price policy
Expedite / Standard / Economy tiers
Inspection & certificates
Up to AS9102 FAI
Standard lead time
3 days; Economy 7–18
Certifications
ISO 9001 / 13485, AS9100D, ITAR

Strengths

  • Parts made in Protolabs-owned factories — repeatable process, one QMS
  • 1-day CNC and sheet metal with published expedite tiers
  • Inspection options up to AS9102 FAI on the quote

Limits

  • Factory milling envelope 22 × 14 × 3.75 in — larger parts route to the Network
  • Quotes arrive within hours, not seconds

protolabs.com · checked September 13, 2026

Oakland, California, USA (offices in Phoenix, Guangzhou, Bengaluru, Pune, Monterrey) · founded 2013 · Owned by MISUMI Group (acquired 2025 for $350 million)

Best for: programs that want a named program manager and multi-region sourcing (US, Mexico, India, China), with a dimensional report free on every CNC part.

Materials
45+ CNC materials
Finishes & heat treatment
28 CNC · 34 sheet finish options
Price policy
Instant; 5 qty tiers; no match policy
Inspection & certificates
Free dimensional report; FAI, PPAP extra
Standard lead time
CNC 1–10 days
Certifications
ISO 9001; partners AS9100D / 13485; no ITAR

Strengths

  • Four manufacturing regions — tariff and capacity resilience
  • Free dimensional inspection report on CNC parts
  • Up to five quantity tiers in a single quote

Limits

  • Does not support ITAR parts or projects
  • Ships to the US and Canada only

fictiv.com · checked September 13, 2026

Shenzhen, China · founded 2009 · Private

Best for: mid-volume CNC and molding from a China factory with company-level ISO 13485 / IATF 16949, accepting a week of transit and import duties.

Materials
100+ materials; 30+ CNC
Finishes & heat treatment
30 finishes
Price policy
Instant; no match policy
Inspection & certificates
FAI, CMM, RoHS on request
Standard lead time
5 days + 3–10 days transit
Certifications
ISO 9001 / 13485 / 14001, IATF; no ITAR

Strengths

  • Own factories plus network — capacity for mid-volume runs
  • ISO 13485 and IATF 16949 at company level
  • 24-hour rush on simple CNC prototypes

Limits

  • Door-to-door adds 3–10 days plus customs and US tariffs
  • No ITAR

rapiddirect.com · checked September 13, 2026

Reno, Nevada, USA (facilities in Nevada, Kentucky and Texas) · founded 2018 · Private

Best for: flat and simply bent sheet parts at published prices shipped in 2–4 days — for sheet metal Hubs quotes from 5 business days.

Materials
175+ sheet materials
Finishes & heat treatment
Anodize, Zn / Ni plating, 15 powder coats
Price policy
Published prices; volume −80 %
Inspection & certificates
MTRs on request, accuracy not guaranteed
Standard lead time
Ships in 2–4 days
Certifications
None published

Strengths

  • Published example prices and volume discounts up to 80 %
  • Everything made in-house, 24-hour tier available
  • 175+ stocked materials from 0.015" to 2.25"

Limits

  • Cuts are 2D perpendicular only — no V-grooves, contours or partial-depth cuts
  • Bends to 130° only; no hems, coining, curls or roll forming; no custom bend radii

sendcutsend.com · checked September 13, 2026

Spanish Fork, Utah, USA (second facility in Burlington, Kentucky) · founded 2018 · Private

Best for: thick plate to 1", tube laser and bent parts with a 2-day guaranteed lead time from its own ISO 9001 shops — Hubs sheet metal stops at 6 mm.

Materials
500+ sheet, plate, tube
Finishes & heat treatment
Deburr, blast, powder coat; no plating
Price policy
Instant; auto volume discounts
Inspection & certificates
Not published
Standard lead time
2 days, guaranteed
Certifications
ISO 9001:2015

Strengths

  • Plate to 1" thick and tube laser in the same quote
  • Two-day standard with the selected lead time guaranteed
  • ISO 9001:2015 certified

Limits

  • No CNC machining and no welding
  • Cosmetic parts are not protected — minor marks are expected

oshcut.com · checked September 13, 2026

Delaware, USA (engineering team in Israel) · founded 2020 · Private (venture-backed, Y Combinator W21)

Best for: buyers who want to know and talk to the shop making the part, with ITAR-registered US suppliers under one supplier of record.

Materials
Depends on the shop
Finishes & heat treatment
Not published
Price policy
Several shop quotes side by side
Inspection & certificates
Not published
Standard lead time
From 5 business days
Certifications
ISO 9001; partners AS9100D / 13485, ITAR

Strengths

  • Supplier transparency — the shop is named and reachable
  • ITAR-registered US shops available
  • Single supplier of record across many shops

Limits

  • No instant quote — prices come back in hours
  • Its own guidance: not for one-off parts needed in 24 hours

jiga.io · checked September 13, 2026

Hubs alternatives — FAQ

What are the best alternatives to Hubs (Protolabs Network)?

For US buyers, FabDigit: more materials and finishes instant-quoted (790 grades, 150+ finishes, 30 heat treatments against 75+ and 37 / 17), an engineer on every quote, 4 inspection levels and 8 certificates chosen per line, ±0.025 mm standard tolerance, and a price-beat offer. Xometry for ITAR and the widest process menu. Protolabs for its own factories and 1-day expedites. Fictiv for a managed program. RapidDirect for China volume with company-level ISO 13485. SendCutSend and OSH Cut for sheet metal from their own shops. Jiga to know the shop.

Is Hubs the same as Protolabs?

Hubs (3D Hubs) was acquired by Protolabs in 2021 for $280 million and now operates as Protolabs Network — a marketplace of partner shops. Protolabs itself makes parts in its own factories; the Network handles parts outside that envelope and offers marketplace pricing. Hubs is ISO 9001 certified at company level; ITAR is not offered.

Who is cheaper than Hubs?

FabDigit, by policy: every FabDigit quote carries a price-beat offer — send the Hubs quote for the same part, quantity, material, tolerance and finish and FabDigit almost always beats it. Hubs states that network competition keeps prices competitive and includes import duties for EU / UK / US buyers, but publishes no match policy. For simple flat sheet parts SendCutSend publishes its prices outright.

How fast is Hubs compared with the alternatives?

Hubs quotes in about five seconds but its CNC and sheet metal standard lead time starts at 5 business days (3D printing from 1 day). FabDigit runs 5–7 days standard with simple parts from 2 days; Protolabs 3 days standard with same-day expedites; Xometry 3–7 days; OSH Cut 2 days guaranteed; SendCutSend ships in 2–4 days.

What does Hubs not do?

From its own pages: ITAR, sheet metal outside 1–6 mm or outside aluminum, stainless, mild steel and copper, disclosing the producing shop, and published inspection-report options. FabDigit quotes plate and welded assemblies, 790 grades and 4 inspection levels; OSH Cut handles plate to 1".

Does FabDigit review DFM like Hubs?

Hubs flags DFM automatically in the five-second quote. FabDigit shows the instant price first and then has an engineer review DFM and the inspection plan on every quote before release.

See also Protolabs alternatives, Xometry alternatives and the sheet metal comparison.

Sources

Facts read from each company’s own public pages on September 13, 2026; FabDigit runs this site and is listed first. Prices are compared as published policy, not as one number — our sampled prices are in the CNC and sheet metal cost guides. Hubs / Protolabs Network is described from hubs.com and the Protolabs acquisition release. Proto Labs, Inc. is not affiliated with FabDigit. Vendor names identify the services compared and belong to their owners. Out-of-date fact? sales@fabdigit.com.

Get the FabDigit quote next to your Hubs quote.

Same STEP file, instant price, 790 grades and 150+ finishes to pick from, an engineer’s DFM review, inspection and certificates chosen in the form — and if the Hubs quote is lower, send it and FabDigit beats it.